Information about National Flag of India | Tiranga | Indian National Flag Pictures

"A flag not only of freedom for ourselves, but a symbol of freedom to all people."
                                                                                                         - Jawaharlal Nehru

The national flag of India was adopted on 22nd of July in 1947 some days after the independence of India on 15th of August, 1947 from the British rule. The Indian national flag contains three colours and thus also called as the Tiranga.The National Flag of India is a national symbol designed in horizontal rectangular shape. It is designed using three colors such as deep saffron (top most), white (middle) and India green (lower most). The middle white color contains navy blue Ashoka Chakra (means Wheel of Law) in the centre having 24 spokes in the wheel.On Republic Day and Independence day , we salute our national flag with honor and pride in our hearts.

Some Important about Indian National Flag

The flag was designed by Pingali Venkayya, an agriculturist and Indian freedom fighter.
The national flag of India, by law, is to be made of khadi, a special type of hand-spun cloth of cotton or silk made popular by Mahatma Gandhi.
The right to manufacture the national flag of India is held by the Khadi Development and Village Industries Commission, who in turn allocates it to the regional groups.
The national flag of India is also known by the term ‘tricolour’, Tiranga in Hindi. Reason for this is the three dominant colors in the flag, saffron, white and green. These two terms in India always refer to the national flag.

The three colors have different representations each.

The Saffron color represents courage and sacrifice.
White represents truth, peace and purity.
The Green color represents prosperity.
The Ashok Chakra represents the Laws of Dharma (righteousness).

According to the Flag code of India, the Indian flag has a ratio of two by three, where the length of the flag is 1.5 times that of the width and all three stripes of the flag – saffron, white and green – should be equal in width and length.

The size of the Ashoka Chakra was not specified in the Flag code, but the Ashoka Chakra must have twenty-four spokes that are evenly spaced. The Ashoka Chakra is rendered in a Navy-blue color on the white stripe of the flag.

Some Fact about Indian National Flag

The Indian flag was hoisted on the highest mountain peak of the world, Mount Everest on 29 May 1953.
Madam Bhikaji Rustom Cama was the first person to hoist Indian flag on foreign soil on 22 August 1907 in Stuttgrat, Germany.
The Indian National Flag flew to space in 1984 when Wing Commander Rakesh became the first Indian to travel to space. The flag was attached as a medallion on the space suit of Rakesh Sharma.
The National Flag hoisted at Central Park, Connaught Place, New Delhi, is one of the largest in India. It is 90 feet in length, 60 feet in width and is hoisted on a flagpole of 207 feet.
India holds the world record for the largest human flag which was formed by 50,000 volunteers in Chennai in December 2014.

Indian National Flag Pictures

Indian National Flag 1906
Indian National Flag 1907
Indian National Flag1917
Indian National Flag1921
Indian National Flag1931
Indian National Flag 1947

Get Daily New Updates Like this Page